Our Second Amendment rights may grant us the privilege to keep and bear arms, but there are some stipulations. Concealing a firearm in Florida requires holding a valid permit, and choosing to carry a concealed weapon without one could land you with severe consequences.
If you are facing a criminal charge for carrying a concealed weapon without a permit, your freedom and reputation are in jeopardy. Do not face these serious charges without professional legal counsel. Criminal Defense Attorney Brian Gabriel has over 30 years of experience creating strategic plans to defend the rights of Floridians accused of assorted crimes, and he will handle your case using all the knowledge and skill developed over the span of his career.
Penalties You Could Face for Carrying a Concealed Weapon Without a Permit in Florida
Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit is outlawed in Florida under Florida Statute 790.01, which states that anyone who carries a concealed firearm on or about his or her person commits a felony of the third degree. This means if you are convicted of carrying a weapon without a valid permit, you could face the following penalties associated with third-degree felonies in Florida:
- Up to 5 years in prison
- Up to a $5,000 fine
Should you be convicted of carrying a concealed firearm without a permit in Florida, you will also have lifelong status as a convicted felon, which could hinder your ability to secure housing or jobs. Once you are convicted of a felony in Florida, you will also lose your right to own a firearm, vote in elections, and hold certain professional licenses.
If you already had a previous felony on your criminal record when you were arrested for concealed carrying a firearm, the crime will be elevated to a second-degree felony, punishable by:
- Up to 15 years in prison
- Up to a $10,000 fine
What To Know About Concealed Carry in Florida
Before being convicted of concealed carrying without a permit, the State must be able to prove the following three elements beyond a reasonable doubt:
- The defendant was intentionally carrying a firearm
- The firearm was obscured from plain sight of others
- The defendant did not have a valid license to carry a concealed weapon
A firearm is considered to be “concealed” if it is obscured or hidden in a way that would keep another person from immediately recognizing the object as a firearm. Your criminal defense lawyer may be able to call into question whether your firearm was actually concealed. Other defenses that may be used include the following:
- You were not in possession of the firearm
- You had no knowledge of the firearm
- The firearm was not readily accessible
- You had a license to concealed carry
Defend a Concealed Carry Charge in Florida with a Skilled Criminal Defense Lawyer
Carrying a hidden weapon without a concealed carry permit is a criminal offense that often leads to severe consequences. Get help taking on these accusations with a criminal defense lawyer you can trust to protect your rights. Criminal Defense Attorney Brian Gabriel has dedicated his triple-decade career to defending the interests of people just like you.
Start with a free consultation today by calling Criminal Defense Attorney Brian Gabriel of The Law Office of Gabriel & Gabriel at (561) 622-5575. You can also complete an online contact form to learn more.