South Florida is difficult to traverse without reliable transportation. Points of interest and bustling metropolitan areas are typically too spread out to navigate on foot. Public transportation is generally unreliable, and methods like riding a bike are largely unsafe. Thus, residents whose livelihoods depend on driving find themselves between a rock and a hard place when their licenses are suspended.
Although it is not necessary to work with an attorney to fight a driving while license suspended charge, it’s not uncommon for people to seek legal help in these situations. The Florida DMV frequently suspends licenses for numerous reasons, many of which have nothing to do with driving. Once you’re caught driving with a suspended license, you risk losing your license for a much longer period of time. If you continue to drive with a suspended license, you could ultimately face serious felony charges that cannot be removed from your criminal record.
If you currently face charges of driving with a suspended license with or without knowledge, hiring a suspended license lawyer in West Palm Beach can bring you peace of mind and help you protect your driving privilege in the state of Florida.
Common Penalties for a DWLS Conviction
Driving with a suspended license with knowledge is a misdemeanor offense which may result in:
- Up to 1 year of incarceration in jail
- Fines of up to $1,000
- A period of probation
- An extension of your license suspension
Facing DWLS Charges Without a Lawyer
Although this is an offense for which judges rarely impose a jail sentence, particularly if it’s your first offense, you might have an unsettling experience being booked into jail while awaiting your arraignment. You might be unsure about posting bail or having a family member or friend do so on your behalf. The fact of the matter is simple: a person without experience getting around the legal system will almost undoubtedly make decisions that end up hurting the outcome of his or her case.
In some cases, people have appeared in court and paid fines without realizing that they were convicted of the offense. A conviction for DWLS can occur without receiving a jail sentence and it cannot be expunged. Upon a conviction, you are left with a permanent criminal record that might prevent you from having future criminal charges sealed or expunged. Thus, the best course of action is to work with an attorney who can attempt to have your charge dismissed or reduced to that of a simple traffic infraction, eliminating your criminal charge and keeping your driving record clean.
Working with a DWLS Defense Lawyer in West Palm Beach
Pleading to a DWLS charge may result in a 5-year suspension of your license if you have 2 prior suspended license, DUI, or leaving the scene of the accident or related charges. Although you might walk out of court with a relatively small fine upon a conviction, you can lose your license for 5 years and risk a severe felony charge if you’re caught driving without a valid license a second time.
Avoid the uncertainties of fighting a driving while license suspended charge on your own. Attorney Brian P. Gabriel of The Law Office of Gabriel & Gabriel has more than 30 years of experience helping criminal defendants tackle DWLS charges. He has successfully had his clients’ charges reduced or dismissed many times in Palm Beach County and surrounding areas. As a Top 100 Attorney with the National Trial Lawyers, you can trust him to dedicate the personalized attention your case deserves.
Contact Brian Gabriel at 561-622-5575 or complete our contact form for a free consultation.