No Valid Driver’s License
Driving without a valid Florida state driver’s license is a criminal offense in the State of Florida. Under Florida State Statute 322.03, it is against the law to drive any motor vehicle, including an automobile, truck, motorcycle, trailer, moped — or any vehicle that is not solely human-powered– without a valid driver’s license. If you face charges for “no valid driver’s license,” you should seek the aid of a criminal defense lawyer who will fight the charges against you.
“No Valid Driver’s License” Explained
In Florida, a charge of driving without a license is a criminal misdemeanor offense of the second degree. One who is charged could face penalties of:
- Up to six months in county jail
- A fine of up to $500
- The charges could also add up if you are caught driving without a license more than once
It is possible you are not fully aware that you have been charged with this crime. If you received a citation, it is important that you realize that this counts as an arrest. Although you have technically been released, you are still being charged with a second degree misdemeanor offense. Those who have no prior criminal record should obtain a strong legal defense to protect their interests. Attorney Brian Gabriel has fought criminal traffic charges as part of his criminal defense career over the past 25 years throughout Palm Beach County.
Charges may escalate the more times you are caught driving without a valid driver’s license. Although charges for “no valid driver’s license” is a criminal charge, this charge alone will not count as a “strike” that will lead to habitual traffic offender charges; rather, this charge incurred more than once may lead to a charge of “driving while license suspended or revoked with knowledge,” which will count as a strike toward an HTO charge.
Obtaining three charges of driving while license suspended or revoked (DWSLR) within five years can result in a revocation of your driver’s license as a habitual traffic offender for a term of five years. This is why many DWSLR charges are negotiated to lesser charges such as “no valid driver’s license.” Yet, because repeated “no valid” charges can provoke DWLSR with knowledge charges, it is still a serious offense for which you should seek a strong criminal defense attorney.
“No Valid License” Defense Attorney in West Palm Beach
Your best course of action is to quit driving until you obtain a valid Florida driver’s license and call an experienced no valid driver’s license defense attorney. At The Law Office of Gabriel & Gabriel, we have served those who are accused of criminal offenses for over 25 years throughout South Florida. Contact attorney Brian Gabriel at 561-622-5575 or reach out to us online to schedule a free legal consultation to discuss your charges of no valid driver’s license in West Palm Beach.