There are approximately 15 million licensed drivers in Florida, yet driving remains a privilege and not a right. To get around, a person must have a clean driving record. Florida is one of 42 states and the District of Columbia in which a person can accrue points on their license for committing traffic violations. Enough points within a certain time frame could lead to a license suspension. When driving in Florida, understanding the driver’s license point system is key to maintaining your driving privileges.
How Do Points Get on My Driving Record?
Points get on your driving record when you commit a traffic violation. The number of points you receive for a single violation depends on the severity of the violation. Anything from speeding to reckless driving can lead to points if the court finds you guilty of the offense.
How Can License Points Affect Me?
There are several undesirable consequences for gathering points on your Florida driver’s license. Some of the most common effects of point accumulation include:
- Steeper auto insurance payments
- Eventual license suspension
- Job loss
- A hit to your credit score
Losing your driver’s license due to accumulating points often sparks a series of misfortunes. A person who cannot legally drive often cannot make it to work reliably. That person may eventually lose their job, especially if the job requires them to have a valid driver’s license.
Points on your driver’s license can also affect your credit score. A person with an unfavorable credit score could find it challenging to acquire an affordable loan, rental property, or even a job. With an increasing number of employers and landlords reviewing credit scores, license points can impact many aspects of your life.
Common Traffic Violations in Florida and their Point Values
There are various traffic violations for which a driver may incur points. Generally, minor violations incur 3 points while more serious offenses go up from there.
- Driving at 15 or fewer miles per hour over the posted speed limit
- Tailgating another vehicle
- Cutting off a vehicle
- Failing to yield to a pedestrian
- Violating child restraint laws
- A conviction for driving with an open container
- Driving at 15 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit
- All moving violations (except for speeding) which result in a crash
- Failing to obey a traffic signal
- Reckless driving
- Failing to stop for a school bus
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Speeding that results in a crash
- Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in property damage of more than $50
You can also accumulate points if you commit a traffic violation in another state that would incur points in Florida.
How Many Points Until My License is Suspended?
Anyone who accumulates 12 points in a 12-month period will receive a 30-day license suspension.
A person who accumulates 18 points in 18 months will receive a 90-day license suspension.
Finally, you can lose your license for one year with 24 points in a three-year period.
When do License Points Go Away?
Your traffic ticket will incur points if you fail to consult with a traffic attorney to defend you and choose to pay the fine that accompanied your citation. Driver’s license points will stay on your record for three years, starting the date you pay the fine or the day you successfully satisfied all court requirements after being found guilty in court.
How Can I Fight a Traffic Ticket?
With the help of a suspended license lawyer in West Palm Beach, it may be possible to avoid points on your license even if you have received a ticket. The key is to avoid paying the fine. Instead, contact The Law Office of Gabriel & Gabriel for quality legal representation.
Brian Gabriel has more than 30 years of experience fighting reckless driving and other traffic-related charges that may have led to points on your license or a suspended license. He’s been rated one of the National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Trial Lawyers. See how he can help you hold onto your license in West Palm Beach. Call 561-622-5575 or click here to complete our contact form.