On November 29, 2020, a 27-year-old woman, of North Port, Florida, was traveling southbound on River Road in Sarasota when her vehicle veered across the center line and struck a Ford Focus in a head-on collision. A 28-year-old pregnant woman in the Ford Focus was killed in the impact, along with her unborn fetus.
Gray was transported to Sarasota Memorial Hospital, where she was later released. Police report that she had a blood alcohol concentration level of .124 at the time of the crash. Gray is now being charged with two counts of DUI manslaughter, two counts of driving while license suspended involving death, and two counts of DUI property damage. She was booked into the Sarasota County Jail on March 4, 2021.
Driving Under the Influence Manslaughter in Florida
Florida Statute 316.193 states that a person is considered to be “driving under the influence” if they are in physical control of a vehicle and have a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood. The charge inflates to a DUI manslaughter charge if their actions result in the death of a human being or unborn fetus.
Driving under the influence charges are heavily penalized in Florida, especially when the incident results in the death of a pregnant woman. Florida Statute 782.09 states that a person who unlawfully kills an unborn fetus by any injury to the mother would be considered manslaughter. This means that if you have a BAC of 0.08 or higher and you cause a car accident that claims the life of a pregnant woman, you could be facing not one but two counts of DUI manslaughter. If you are facing charges for the death of a pregnant woman, protect yourself by hiring a criminal defense attorney that will build a strong defense for your charges.
Possible Penalties for DUI Manslaughter in Florida
DUI manslaughter charges are either a first-or second-degree felony, depending on the circumstances surrounding your case. Second-and first-degree felony charges in Florida are punishable by:
- Up to $10,000 in fines
- Up to 30 years in prison, with a 4-year minimum
- Vehicle impoundment
- Driver’s license revocation
- Ignition interlock device installation
If you are facing DUI manslaughter charges, you may have to serve time in prison. Even after serving your time and being released from prison, you will be subject to probation. If you violate your probation, you could end up back in prison.
The best way to avoid these penalties, or at least mitigate them, is to hire a DUI manslaughter defense attorney. A criminal defense attorney will represent your interests in court and ensure that your rights are being protected throughout your legal battle. Even if your attorney is unable to have your charges dropped, just having a legal advocate on your side could potentially reduce your sentencing.
Hire an Experienced DUI Lawyer in West Palm Beach to Defend Your Charges
After being arrested for driving under the influence, your reputation and criminal record are on the line. A single mistake should determine anyone’s fate. The Law Office of Gabriel & Gabriel has over 30 years of experience defending West Palm Beach residents who face charges of driving under the influence, and Criminal Defense Attorney Brian Gabriel will use all the knowledge and skills honed over his lengthy career in the defense.
Attorney Brian Gabriel firmly believes that preparation and hard work on behalf of his clients is the only means of proper representation. Regardless of what Florida county you live in, The Law Office of Gabriel & Gabriel is dedicated to representing you for any criminal matter. Call (561) 622-5575 or complete an online contact form to schedule a free consultation for your DUI case today.