Americans generally hold the right to bear arms as granted by the Second Amendment, one of the oldest and most fought over rights in the Constitution. In Florida, you may carry a concealed weapon in many places with the proper permit; however, there are certain exceptions. In specific instances, some people may not even qualify to own the weapon at all. Let’s examine the basics of Florida’s gun laws.
When Can I Legally Purchase a Gun?
Under the Gun Control Act, those who are 18 and older may acquire shotguns, rifles and ammunition for shotguns and rifles. All other firearms require individuals to be at least 21 along with other restrictions.
Do I Need a License or Permit to Own a Gun?
In Florida, you are not required to have a permit to purchase firearms; you also don’t need to register your firearms. What you will need to do is have a concealed weapons permit if you wish to take your firearm outside of your home or car.
Concealed Carry Florida Guidelines
To legally take a firearm with you for self defense purposes, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services must issue you a concealed carry license. To conceal carry a weapon means that the firearm is carried on or about your person in such a way that it cannot be seen in plain view. Though this license does not allow you to visibly carry a weapon, you can transport your weapon on your person for protection under the following circumstances:
- You are at least 21 years old
- You are a resident and citizen of the United States
- You have never been convicted of a felony
- You have never been convicted of a drug crime
- You are not dependent on alcohol
- You wish to carry the firearm solely for self-defense
- You demonstrate competence with a firearm
- You are not incapacitated
- You have never been committed to a mental institution
- You have not been sentenced for a domestic violence crime
- You are not the subject of a protective order
- You are legally allowed to own a gun by any other state or federal law
Places You Cannot Legally Conceal Carry
With a conceal carry permit you are able to take your weapon with you to most public areas so long as it is not in plain view; however, you cannot carry a firearm in:
- A police station or other law enforcement agency
- Detention facility
- Courthouse or courtroom
- School property
- Polling places
- Career centers
- Colleges/ university facilities
- Anywhere else federal law bans carrying weapons
Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit is a serious misdemeanor offense in West Palm Beach. For experienced legal counsel, attorney Brian Gabriel has served the criminally accused of Palm Beach County and surrounding areas for over 30 years. He has handled many weapons offenses throughout the state of Florida. Call The Law Office of Gabriel & Gabriel at 561-622-5575 or contact us online for a free consultation.