Florida state law prohibits drivers of any age from operating a vehicle when they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or above. However, if the driver is under the Florida legal drinking age of 21, they are subjected to even stricter regulations. Underage drivers who have a BAC of just .02% could be cited for a charge of driving under the influence (DUI).
If your underage child has been arrested for DUI in Florida, now is the time to seek legal counsel from a lawyer who has experience with these types of cases. Criminal Defense Attorney Brian Gabriel has been defending Floridians accused of DUIs for over 30 years. When you work with Mr. Gabriel, you can rest assured he will handle your child’s case using all the knowledge and skill developed over the span of his career.
What Penalties Can You Face for an Underage DUI in Florida?
The state of Florida punishes all DUI convictions harshly—even if it is the driver’s first violation—but underage offenders face even more severe penalties. Underage drivers may not be able to receive jail time for a DUI in Florida, but they may be penalized with the following:
- Driver’s license suspension of up to 1 year
- Completion of a DUI evaluation and course
- Thousands of dollars in fines
- Community service
- Hindered opportunities to:
- Obtain scholarships
- Hold certain professional licenses
- Own a firearm
- Join the military
- Gain acceptance into some colleges
Convictions for DUIs are not eligible for sealing or expungement in Florida. As a result, underage DUIs will remain on your record for the rest of your life. Consider enlisting the help of a skilled Florida criminal defense lawyer to avoid the risk of a permanent mark on your child’s criminal record.
How a Florida Underage DUI Lawyer Can Help
Underage drivers facing DUIs in Florida do not go through the typical criminal DUI process. Instead, these types of cases are processed by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Underage DUI lawyer Brian Gabriel can guide you and your child through this process step by step and represent your child’s interests at the hearing.
Criminal Defense Attorney Brian Gabriel can also help your child apply for what is known as a hardship license. This kind of license authorizes the possessor to drive to and from work during their suspension period. However, they will be required to use an ignition interlock device (IID) during this time. Hardship license applicants must also complete at least 30 days of their suspension and register for a substance abuse education course.
Contact a Florida Criminal Defense Attorney for an Underage DUI Charge
Criminal Defense Attorney Brian Gabriel is the driving force behind The Law Office of Gabriel & Gabriel. With over 30 years of experience handling underage DUIs in Florida, there is no better advocate to have when navigating this process.
Protect your child’s future by starting with a free consultation today. Call Criminal Defense Attorney Brian Gabriel of The Law Office of Gabriel & Gabriel at (561) 622-5575. You can also complete an online contact form to learn more.