Across the country, drivers are shocked to learn their licenses can be suspended for violations that don’t involve driving a car. In Florida, the state suspended the licenses of nearly 2 million registered drivers, about 15% of which were suspended for non-traffic offenses. While it makes sense that your license can be suspended for driving under the influence or even driving without car insurance, some licenses are suspended for actions that don’t put others in harm’s way. If you’re wondering how your driver’s license can get suspended in Florida, here are some of the most common non-driving related reasons.
Failure to Pay Child Support and Other Court Fines
While it sounds counter-intuitive, you could lose your driving privileges if you become delinquent on your child support payments or fail to pay other fines you owe the court. In some cases, you could receive a temporary driving permit if losing a driver’s license creates a hardship that would prevent you from making the payments you owe.
Failure to Appear in Traffic Court
When you receive a summons to appear in court, it’s important to arrive on the specific date and time you were given. Those who miss their court dates might face a bench warrant and/or license suspension. Bench warrants allow police to arrest you when they find you; the only difference between a bench warrant and a regular arrest warrant is that police will not actively search for you if you have a bench warrant. Therefore, if an officer stops you for a minor traffic violation and finds that the court has issued a bench warrant, you will be arrested.
Underage Possession of Alcohol
In Florida, those who are old enough to drive but not yet old enough to drink who are caught with alcohol could lose their driving privileges. The period of your license suspension for underage possession of alcohol varies, depending on how often you have committed the offense. If it’s your first violation, you could lose your license for a minimum of 6 months and a maximum of one year.
Drug offenders face many challenges in Florida, one of which is the risk of losing a driver’s license upon a conviction for a drug crime. The Florida DMV may impose a 2-year license suspension for anyone convicted of a drug offense. The DMV-issued suspension is in addition to any criminal penalties the court imposes. States across the country are incentivized to suspend the licenses of drug offenders because refusing to do so would result in the loss of a portion of their federal highway funding.
Hiring a Suspended License Lawyer
A license suspension can create considerable hardship in your life. Driving while your license is suspended with knowledge is one of three charges for which a conviction may lead to becoming a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO). If you’re not careful, your license could be permanently revoked. After five years, an HTO must apply for a completely new license.
The best way to avoid license issues is to avoid driving with a suspended license. At The Law Office of Gabriel & Gabriel, we understand why this is not always possible. Our goal is to always provide professional representation to our clients and seek the best possible outcome for each and every case. Attorney Brian Gabriel has defended suspended license charges in West Palm Beach for more than 30 years. As a Top 100 Lawyer with the National Trial Lawyers, you can trust him to advocate for you regardless of the reason why your license was suspended.
Call 561-622-5575 or complete our contact form for a free consultation.